Events from 2016

January 2016

Week of Prayer for Christian Unity
18 - 25 January (Monday to Monday)

  • United lunch in St Peter's Church hall, Wednesday 20 January, 12:30pm
  • United prayer at Hersham Baptist Church, Thursday 21 January, 8pm
  • United service at All Saints Roman Catholic Church, Sunday 24 January, 3pm

February 2016

Lent lunches
Thursdays during lent (18 Feb, 25 Feb, 3 Mar, 10 Mar, 17 Mar), 12:30pm

Please note: The first lunch on 18 Feb will be held in Hersham Baptist Church, Arch Road. All other lunches will be held in St Peter's Church hall, Burwood Road.

Join us for a simple soup lunch at 12:30pm on Thursdays during lent. Lunches will be organised by volunteers from various churches and donations will be collected in support of Mary's Meals and Elmbridge Rentstart.


March 2016

Lent lunches
Thursdays during lent (18 Feb, 25 Feb, 3 Mar, 10 Mar, 17 Mar), 12:30pm
St Peter's Church hall, Burwood Road
Join us for a simple soup lunch at 12:30pm on Thursdays during lent. Lunches will be organised by volunteers from various churches and donations will be collected in aid of charity.

Womens' World Day of Prayer service - Christian women of Cuba
Friday 4 March (time TBC)
Hersham Baptist Church

United Easter service
Maundy Thursday (24 March), 12 noon
A short 15 minute service will be held at the Hersham Centre for the Community, Queens Road.

Good Friday Walk of Witness
Good Friday (25 March), 10:30am
Starting from St Peter's Church and finishing with a short service in the Memorial Garden. Light refreshments will be served in All Saints Church hall afterwards.

Easter services
See individual churches for more details.


April 2016

United prayer
Thursday 21 April, 8pm
All Saints Church


May 2016

Week of Prayer for Evangelism during Pentecost *
Sunday 8 - Sunday 15 May
Invitation to all churches and cathedrals in England
More information from Thy Kingdom Come

Christian Aid Week *
Sunday 15 - Saturday 21 May

CRE International *
Tuesday 17 - Friday 20 May
ExCel, London

Big Church Day Out *
Saturday 28 and Sunday 29 May
Wiston House, West Sussex


July 2016

Elmbridge Leisure Live *
Saturday 9 July, 11am - 4pm
Hersham Green

Whiteley Village fete and flower festival *
Saturday 16 July, 12:30 - 4pm
Whiteley Village

United prayer
Thursday 21 July, 7pm
St Mark's Church, Whiteley Village


September 2016

Back to Church Sunday *
Sunday 25 September
Various churches throughout the UK
More information from Season of Invitation


October 2016

24 hours of prayer
Friday 21 October, 8pm - Saturday 22 October, 8pm
Hersham Baptist Church, Arch Road

  • Please join us to pray for the people and place of Hersham.
  • The event will begin with an opening service from 8pm - 8:45pm on Fri 21 Oct.
  • Prayer will take place in hourly slots, finishing with a closing service from 7pm - 7:45pm on Sat 22 Oct.
  • For more information, please speak with your church coordinator or Heather Fellows (01932 701139).

November 2016

CAP Money Course (x3 weekly sessions)
Wednesday 9, 16 and 23 November, 7:45pm for 8pm
Hersham Baptist Church, Arch Road

  • The CAP Money Course is a FREE course that will teach you budgeting skills and a simple, cash-based system that works.
  • In just a few weeks, you will get to grips with your finances so you can budget, save and prevent debt.
  • More information is available on the CAP Money Course website.
  • To book your FREE place, please contact Paul Hazeldine on 01932 241764 or by email: [email protected]

Remembrance Sunday service in the Memorial Garden *
Sunday 13 November, 10:50am
St Peter's Church will be leading a short service to remember all those who have sacrificed their lives in conflict.


December 2016

Christmas church services
Various services will be taking place in churches across Hersham.

Carol singing in Homefield residential home
Wednesday 14 December, 10am
Church members will be singing carols with the residents.

Carol singing at the Hersham Green Centre (outside Waitrose)
Saturday 17 December, 11am - 12 noon
Church members will be singing carols in the Hersham shopping centre.

Carol service at the Hersham Centre for the Community (Day Centre)
Thursday 22 December, 11:30am - 12 noon


* Events marked with an asterisk are not organised by Hersham Churches Together.