Events from 2008

December 2008

Walton Men's Breakfast with Henry Olonga *
Saturday 6 December. 8:15am - 10:00am at Esher Rugby Club.
Breakfast for men in all churches in Walton and Hersham.
Speaker: Henry Olonga, former Zimbabwean, cricketer and now singer.

Carol Singing at Hersham Shopping Centre.
Saturday 13 December. 11:00pm - 12:00 midday.

Carol Service at Homefield.
Monday 15 December. 4:00pm (arrive from 3:30pm).
Led by Keith Jowett, speaker Jonathan Andrew.
Limited seating. Space allows us a maximum 12 people.


November 2008

November sermons (x3) at St Peter's Church. *
Sundays in November. 6:30pm.
More information: St. Peter's Church.

Meeting of Churches Together committee.
Wednesday 5 November.

Remembrance service at Hersham war memorial. *
Sunday 9 November. 11:00am.

24-hour prayer at Emmanuel Church.
Friday 14 - Saturday 15 November.
8:00pm Friday - 8:00pm Saturday.


October 2008

Final submission of each church's Christmas events for inclusion in Christmas card.
Friday 31 October.
More information: contact David Edwards.


September 2008

The Alpha Course. *
Starts on Thursday 18 September.
Join The Alpha Course and discover the answers to the bigger questions about life. This 10 week course will take place on Thursday evenings (omitting 30 October) in Hersham Baptist Church, Arch Road, and is jointly hosted by Hersham Baptist and Living Water churches. Late bookings will be accepted up to the third week.

Churches Together prayer meeting at Hersham Baptist Church.
Led by Living Water Church.
Thursday 11 September at 8:00pm.
 
Bringing Life to Worship weekend at St Peter's Church. *
Saturday 20 and Sunday 21 September.

World's Biggest Coffee Morning at St Peter's Church. *
Friday 26 September. 9:15am – 1:00pm.
In aid of the Macmillan Cancer Support charity.
More information: St. Peter's Church.

Back to Church Sunday services. *
Sunday 28 September.
Hersham Baptist Church, Living Water Church and St Mark's Church (Whiteley Village).
More information: Back to Church and Diocese of Guildford.


July 2008

Hersham village fayre
Saturday 5 July. 11:00am – 4:00pm.
Churches Together stall will include hand and foot massage.

United prayer at St Peter’s Church.
Monday 7 July. 8:00pm.

Table top sale at Hersham Baptist Church.*
Saturday 12 July. 11:30am - 1:30pm.
Sellers should contact Hersham Baptist to book a table (no cost).
Contact information: www.hershambaptist.org.uk

Whiteley Village Day on The Green, Whiteley Village.*
Saturday 19 July. 2:00pm – 4:30pm.
Flower Festival all day at St Mark’s Church and on Sunday 20 July.
More information: www.whiteleyvillage.org.uk


May 2008

Pentecost and Global Day of Prayer.*
Sunday 11 May in more than 200 nations.
Main London event at Millwall Football Stadium. 2:00pm - 5:30pm.
More information: www.gdoplondon.com.

National Christian Resources Exhibition at Sandown Park, Esher.*
Tuesday 13 May to Friday 16 May. 10:00am – 5:00pm (4:30pm Friday).
More information: www.creonline.co.uk.

Churches Together prayer meeting at All Saints Roman Catholic Church.
Thursday 22 May. 8:00pm.


April 2008

Quiet Gardens Trust.*
Thursday 3 April. 10:00am - 12:00noon.

Hand and foot massage training for Christian outreach.
Wednesday 30 April. 8:00pm - 10:00pm.


March 2008

Womens' World Day of Prayer service at St Peter's Church
Friday 7 March. 1:30pm.

Passover meal at St Peter's church hall
Thursday 13 March. 7:00pm.

Easter service at Hersham Day Centre
Thursday 20 March. 11:45am for 12:00 – 12:20pm.

Maundy Thursday service with Communion/Eucharist at St Peter's Church
Thursday 20 March. 8:00pm.

Good Friday march of witness around Hersham village
The procession starts at St Peter's Church and finishes with a united service on the memorial green. Followed by hot cross buns and hot drinks.
Friday 21 March. 10:30am.

Easter Day - official anniversary and celebrations of the resurrection of Jesus Christ
Sunday 23 March.


February 2008

Ash Wednesday service at St Peter's Church *
Wednesday 6 February. 8:00pm.

Quiet Gardens Trust meeting *
Thursday 7 February. 10:00am.

Lent study groups
A four-week series taking place from 11 February to 7 March. Five different groups are being held during each week in various homes, so you're sure to find one at a time that suits you. The series will focus on some of the "titles" of Jesus.

Lent lunches at St Peter's church hall
Thursday 14, 21, 28 February and 6 March. 12:30pm.


January 2008

Week of Prayer for Christian Unity - UK 100th Anniversary
Friday 18 – Friday 25 January.

Unity service at St Peter's Church
Sunday 20 January. 3:00pm.

Unity lunch at Hersham Baptist Church
Wednesday 23 January. 12:30pm.

Unity prayer meeting at Hersham Baptist Church
This event is part of regular prayer meetings together.
Friday 25 January. 8:00pm.


* Events marked with an asterisk are not organised by Hersham Churches Together.